The Hills are alive…

Quick post about the new music I’m listening to these days.

Over the last two weeks, I’ve been going on a music buying spree. Normally, I listen to either talk radio or several podcasts on the way to and from work. But for some reason, I’ve been listening to more and more music, so I bought a few cd’s that I’d like to recommend.

First, I purchased, Death Cab for Cutie’s cd “Plans”. This one has been out for a while now, but since I have been absent from the music listening scene for about a year, it was an interesting purchase for me. All the songs are very dark and either about death or hopelessness. Normally, I wouldn’t be into this sort of genre, but for some reason the melodies just struck a cord with me. I pride myself on the fact that I can listen to just about anything, making this group a good addiction to my collection.

I then picked up, Snow Patrol’s CD Eyes Open. Another good album, if you can call them that these days. A bit more uplifting than Death Cab.  I’ve not had a chance to listen in depth to all the songs, but the ones I have listened to are awesome. Chasing Cars is my favorite so far, which makes sense cause its been on the charts and featured in Grey’s Anatomy, a show I regret I can’t get into. It took me a long while to figure out the show is named after a book. lol

I picked up some James Blunt. Due to it being over played on most radio stations and video shows, I got really annoyed with his first hit, “You’re Beautiful” . I actually like the parody that Weird Al did much better. But his second disc, “All The Lost Souls” is very good. The song that got me hooked was “Same Mistake“. All the songs pretty much sound the same except for maybe one or two, but its still I would still recommend it.

Now, after getting all of those discs, for some reason I just couldn’t stop buying stuff. lol So, I ended up getting Tristan Prettyman’s new CD, “Hello…X“. I haven’t gotten the chance to listen to the CD yet, as you can see above I have several new discs I need to get thru first. But I wanted to pick up her cd because I really do enjoy her song, “Madly“. Its a bit pop esq, which soots me just fine considering the other choices I’ve made recently. I’m a child of the 80’s so Pop is part of what I was raised on and its always good to listen to something lite and airy every now and then. We can’t listen to death metal all the time, where would the world be if we did?

If I had to place blame for my recent purchases, I would have to point my finger at two things, VH1 and Itunes. I have a habit of getting up on Saturday mornings and do a few early dailies on WoW. I’m on a Central time PVP server, so its always good to get up before the horde and do some questing on Taco Island, as I call it. So, to keep me company, I’ll set the television to VH1 and listen to “Jump Start”, which is usually followed the show “Fresh New Music“, which is a show featuring new artists, which is where I found Duffy, but thats another story. Then, after listening to something on either show that strikes a cord with me musically, I’ll hit the Itunes store and listen to a few more songs. If I like what I hear, I’ll take a look at the section that shows what other people have bought besides this artist. It is strange how people seem to have the same tastes.

I ended up finding Augustana this way. Another good purchase I made in the last couple of weeks. You can find some interesting things just surfing itunes.

Well, thats it for this week. I hope you find my musical choices interesting and will maybe give them a bit of a listen.

I’ll post more gaming news later today I hope. I waiting to see if there are any AoC reviews out. I’m still on the fence about this one. Its hard to make a decision, on one hand I have friends that are trying to talk me into it, and on the other, I see all the bad open beta reviews. But I want to wait and see how the released client works and behaves before I cross it off my list.

~ by oakstout on May 18, 2008.

One Response to “The Hills are alive…”

  1. Alt band/supergroup (of sorts) alert!!

    “Foxboro Hot Tubs” is a group consisting of all the members of Green Day and, well….three other guys. The album is called “Stop Drop and Roll” is aimed more at ’60’s garage rock than the punk-pop Green Day is known for.

    My favorite so far is “Mother Mary” which sounds a little like The Strokes to me.

Leave a Reply

 
