Iron Man

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was a huge comic book fan when I was in college.  I think I had 14 long boxes full of comics by the time I got married, which is over 2000 comics easy.  While reading thru all these hero books,  I would often wonder if they would ever be able to reproduce what was written and drawn on paper for the big screen? Would they be able to make you feel like you were actually watching a comic book and seeing its characters coming to life on the screen?

There have been some successes, like “Batman Begins”, “Superman Returns” and the “Spider-man” series, all of which managed to take the characters off the page and do them and their creators a great justice, although “Spider-man 3” wasn’t as good as the other 2 in the series.  Then you have the “just ok” super hero movies like “Fantastic Four”, “X-Men”, “Dare-Devil”and “The Punisher”.  Not great movies by a long shot, but still a bit entertaining, even if they were produced only to scam a few bucks out of the public, who is always expecting a good super hero movie.

Course the flops like “The Hulk”, “Elektra”  and “Cat Woman” where the producers and people involved should be sentence to read comic books their eyes pop out and they get it.  Apparently they don’t take the time to understand the comic book or its hero before they decide to butcher them up on the big screen and cheat you out of your hard earned cash.

So, the reason I state all this is because, as I have stated, there truly has only been a few really good super hero movies, but nothing that is a spectacular as “Iron Man”.

“Iron Man” is the movie they should have done “First”.  It is by far the best comic book movie I have seen to date.  The story is well done.  It places a lot of lore in the movie that the average view might miss, but gives any comic book fan the sense that the producers of the film have actually managed to take a favorite super hero character straight out of a comic book and placed him on the screen without losing anything in translation.  I have never felt that they were true to any of the heroes in other movies, but this time, they got it right.  

I was riveted the whole time, which meant, I never sensed any areas that dragged on too long.  The music was pretty good and the casting was just superb.  Like I said, it was like watching a comic book up on the screen.  These people really got it.

I would not change a thing and I’m really hoping to get the chance to see it again, just incase I missed some background stuff.

Please see this movie, you won’t be disappointed.  Also, as a side note, make sure you stay thru the credits, especially if your a true comic book fan.

~ by oakstout on May 5, 2008.

8 Responses to “Iron Man”

  1. I saw it with my girl Fri and yes, it is da bomb. Not a bad date movie either … if your girl likes explosions. 🙂

  2. I also forgot to mention two things, a really great adaptation of a comic series that I missed, Sin City and another really bad one, Darkman.

    It seems as technology just keeps making things so much better. I’m actually looking forward to Speed Racer, now that I have had a chance to look at a few more trailers and previews.

    I’m still on the fence about The Incredible Hulk. Parts of me want to like it, but they made the Hulk look too Cartoony, and I’m just not feeling that look at all.

    Oh and the Fantastic Four with the Silver Surfer, man, what a load of crap that was. If anything it’s maybe decent HBO fair for a lazy sunday afternoon with a bag of microwaveable popcorn, but don’t have high expectations. I’ve seen better stories on the back of a can of soup.

  3. You read soup cans?

  4. Iron Man was by far the best superhero movie I’ve ever seen. Just goes to show that a hero that isn’t “top billing” can become top billing, and that studio execs (who refused RDJ as Stark/Iron Man for a long time) don’t know their asses from their elbows. RDJ *is* Tony Stark. No one else could have pulled it off.

    The rest of them… I love the Spider-Man and X-Men movies, though I probably watch the X-Men DVD’s way more than Spidey. Growing up when I actually read comics, it was the other way around: I was all about Spidey and Iron Man, and I don’t think I cared much for X-Men at all.

    Fantastic Four is popcorn fluff, probably made for a younger crowd, but I don’t mind watching them since I know that ahead of time and just gear myself for it. I wasn’t a huge FF reader either, but weren’t they a little on the less-than-serious side anyway? Normally I can hit the mute button when I see Alba onscreen and just stare at her, but in FF2 she looked like an animated mannequin. I hope the makeup person was chastised, if not fired. Julian McMahon… he has the “bad guy” look; I’m not sure if he’ll ever pull off a role as the good guy, but he’s not a tough guy. He doesn’t do anything resembling justice to Dr. Doom.

    Hulk… yeah… I actually prefer Eric Bana in the role I think. Everyone in the 2003 movie did well, I place the blame on the director for making a depressing movie that got way too psychadelic manga for its own good. If it hadn’t trashed everyone’s reputation, I’d rather see the original cast back for a continuing series. Although I’m looking forward to seeing the yummy Liv Tyler…

  5. Ed Norton as Banner makes more sense to me, really. He just seems the right size and look, while Bana looked too heroic and buff. Not nerdy enough, you know?

    Anyway, I can’t believe I missed the scene at the end of the credits… now I HAVE to see it again.

    There are SCENES at the end of the MUTHERF***ING credits!

    /hint

  6. Yeah, I missed the scene too. /frown

    I was with a co-worker who needed to get home, rather than being with my girlfriend. After all the movies starting to do that recently, I had a sneaking suspicion I should stay but didn’t press the issue. It’s ok though, I’ll have to see it again anyway with my girlfriend! 🙂

  7. @talyn yes, you will! 🙂

  8. The funny thing about the end bonus, my wife was the one that said lets wait and see if they add anything to the end.

    You can almost guarantee that all the summer action movies will have some kind of bonus feature after the credits. I’m not sure which movie was the first, but I do remember sitting thru Ferris Buller because there was the scene at the very end.

    Course, these days when the show them on TV they usually are in such a hurry to push the next show in the cue that they end up cutting out any of the special stuff. 😦

    I’m hoping to get a chance to see it again this week with some guys from work. Lucky for me, the boss might end up paying for the trip. lol

Leave a Reply

 
