Close the Door!

I finally managed to leave the guild.  There was no monumental reasoning behind it, I just typed “/gquit” and that was it.  

If there was a “thing” as they say or a final straw that moved me in that direction, it had to be their lack of commitment to others in the guild.  Apparently, tonight was Gruul’s lair, I was told, but never saw a message that invites were going out. In truth, if they had tried harder to get guild members to go, they wouldn’t have had to PuG 5 people for a 25 person raid.  I only saw one message go out, and it was “DPS Message me for invites” and that was from the guild leader.  Apparently, by the defender of the guild that asked me why I left, they had sent out tons of messages for invites to Gruul’s.  Its a shame my text log doesn’t go back 4 hours or I might have seen it. lol

This wasn’t the real reason for leaving, but it was “a” reason for leaving.  If you have to PuG any percentage of your 25 person raid, there is a problem.  And how do you explain to the PuG-ed people that guild members get first dibs at loot?  I mean, you have to let them know thats the rule, especially if you won’t let guild members bring in alts to fill spaces and let them have chances at loot, right?

Anyway, the response to my “Loot Whore” blog was awesome.  Just about every response I got validated the fact that the guild was being managed poorly and that I should leave as fast as humanly, or in this case, Dwarfinly possible.  Which, as already stated, I happily did. (Break these chains!)

The real problem is that the situation I described is the reason why most people either stop raiding or quit MMO’s altogether.  

It really doesn’t matter if your hardcore or casual, at some point, after reaching the top level attainable in any MMO, as a player you have to face the truth.  If you want to move forward, you have to become a raider. (Not the one’s out in L.A with the really bad record.)

Raiding is the end of the line and you have to either get with it, or bail.  If you move to some other MMO, its only a temporary fix, because you will have to face the problem again. Developers have to find a solution to this and fast.  They need to give players more options at the “End Game.”  Funneling all the players down to a predestined style of play is only going to frustrate them and turn them off as is evident by a lot of blogs I read.

I have no answers or suggestions.  I do know that if a company can successfully close the door to “End Game” raiding, and open up new, exciting and casual doors for players, they would truly be able to yell “DING”.

 

~ by oakstout on April 23, 2008.

5 Responses to “Close the Door!”

  1. I’m probably way off-base with this theory, but did the original skills-based games have a concept of “end game” or did that only come about with EQ and the slew of levels-based games that followed it where the player stares at the xp bar, yells ‘DING!’ to his guild (or general chat) and… the level cap is the ‘end’ of all that?

    Given the way our levels-based games are designed, it’s no wonder we have umpteen levels of one style of gameplay, then at level cap that is removed and we get to choose between raiding or so-called PvP.

    I’m curious if something like Earthrise, being fully skills-based, will succeed in maintaining its game play modes since the ‘end’ won’t be so obvious without levels. Or, has the damage already been done and our mentality has forever been adjusted to expect a definitive ‘end game’ of raiding and pvp?

  2. At this point there isn’t a lot we can do. They either have to make leveling a slow and grueling task or find something else to entertain people once they hit the level cap, or create a game that has no level cap from the start, but then there would be no need for expansions.

    Removing the whole concept of Levels might be the answer. But as I stated, I don’t really have any answers or solutions, I just know that people get frustrated with End game to the point where they stop Raiding or they leave MMO’s altogether, which is bad for the gaming companies.

  3. That’s one reason I enjoyed Dark Age of Camelot for as long as I did. I wasn’t a PvP fan before I played Dark Age, and I haven’t done a lot of PvP after, either. Mythic did an awesome job of making PvP enjoyable on a massive scale. Everyone in your realm could potentially benefit from what happened in the realm versus realm frontiers, from opening up dungeons to getting experience, a little boost in power, and cash bonuses from controlling territory.

    WoW’s PvP is so disconnected from anything going on in Ironforge or Shattrath that I don’t feel like investing the time in the battlegrounds. And I definitely hit the raiding wall you’re talking about. Dark Age was the only mmorpg for me that was more enjoyable once I hit max level. I’d put SWG in there as well, but only because of the excellent crafting, player-run cities, housing, and merchant opportunities. I didn’t enjoy the combat there at all.

  4. First time poster, but long time friend of Oakstout.
    (I’m sure he’ll figure out who I am based on my “name”.

    I’m glad to hear you quit the guild, it really seemed like a bunch of loot-whores to me. Not something I would want to be involved with.

    I started playing online games with EQ, and am now in a raiding guild in WoW. And I agree, it would be nice to see something different in the end game.

    I’ve always looked at these games as many games in one. When you first start playing you are learning the game, and leveling up your character. This part of the game offers a lot of personal satisfaction. A great sense of accomplishment. You see rewards for your efforts on a daily if not hourly basis. I think this is why people have alt-itis. They love the feeling of near instant gratification. Personally, I really think this is the part of the game that is the most fun. No expectations, just pure fun!

    The second game is near the middle to end of the level cap when you are trying to equip your character in the best gear and skills you can. It’s also the phase of the game when you are really learning how to play your character.

    Then comes the end game. In WoW you have the choice of PvP and raiding. One option that can be done solo and the other option needs a group of people. Both can be fustrating.

    Personally I do not like PvP. I really enjoy ganking, but as a holy priest…. not so much. My guild recently started Mount Hyjal and Black Temple and as a raid requirement we all have to have the medallion of the alliance. So I’ve been PvPing to 17K honor…. sucks. Anyway, I don’t like Battle Grounds and have very little desire to do Arena.

    Raiding is a different story. (And I’ve run out of time I’ll add more later)

  5. The same problem I’ve seen with many guilds.

    A bunch of friends get together to play only to realize that not all of them are interested in a wide variety of classes.
    At this point they realize that they have to open the guild to public recruitment. Others are welcomed but not REALLY “welcomed”. They’re only welcome in the guild insomuch as what their toon can contribute to raids (and therefore the friends levelling their own ‘toons). Other than that contribution, the general guild feeling is that outside members can go to hell and it begins to show before too long (even if the core members don’t want it to).
    Eventually like here, they’re gonna raid when they want. They’re all friends so they tend to be more in touch with each other. If you show up, good for you, if not, it’s a PuG.

    Yes, for my disclaimer, I’ve been guilty of this “guild-think” as well.

Leave a Reply

 
