…that word. I do not think it means what you think it means

vizzini.jpg  

While I was commenting on my last blog, something hit me.  Is a friends list really a list of friends, or just a index of contractors? 

I mean, you do a PuG.  For the most part it goes very well, so by the end, you’ve chatted up a few of the people and you all agree to put your names on respective friends lists. But are you doing it because you chatted and found out you all liked the Star Wars Holiday Special, or that you discovered you all worked well as a group and wanted to make sure that if here was another job, I.E quest or instances, you would have a list of competent people to call on to get the job done right?  But are they friends?

I was just wondering.

~ by oakstout on March 23, 2008.

One Response to “…that word. I do not think it means what you think it means”

  1. Friends List, Buddy List, Preferred Adventuring Acquaintance List… whatever… it’s all in how each player treats each player they’ve added to that list.

    Where PUGs are concerned, I always try to make the additional point that joining a guild is essentially joining a large, extended PUG. They’re all strangers to you, you’re a stranger to all of them. Suspending that guild moniker over your head magically imbues neither familiarity nor ability to each guild member. Just as in a true PUG, everyone has to put forth that effort to get to know everyone and learn everyone’s abilities. The difference is, assuming you stay in that guild, that will eventually happen whereas most PUGs are short-term affairs where maybe you got to know a little of some of them, maybe not. I’ve had plenty of PUGs where players didn’t say or type a damn word, which to me just bolsters my argument against the players living in their little bubble with blinders on who rant about solo play. Grouping has nothing whatsoever to do with being social.

    One of my best friends in the world, I met back when I used to help-desk on IRC. He joined for help, later became a helper. We’ve stuck together for years, from IRC to IM to phone calls to videogames, MMO and otherwise, yet we’ve never actually met in person. “Online” (even before the internet) simply added a new dimension or sphere to relationships; it’s up to each person to define their relationships, both physical and virtual.

Leave a Reply

 
