This Blog, 1 out of 5 Stars!

stars.jpg

This one of those silly blogs that asks the question, do you trust your game reviewer?

Years ago, I would pick up PC Gamer and purchase just about any game they rated over a 90.  I figured if they, the BIBLE OF GAMES, gave it a 90, then the game must be worth purchasing.  This all changed with their review of Tron 2.0.  I believe they game it a glowing review.  How could they be wrong?  The game was advertised all over their pages, they gave it an awesome thumbs up, who on earth could I go wrong.  It was even a game in a category, FPS, that at the time I played constantly.

Well, as you can tell by my typed tone, the game didn’t live up the hype.  I played it maybe for a total of 2hours and then shelved it.  How could this be?  The game had to be good, they gave it a superior score.  Well, my friends, I came to the sneaky suspicion that maybe, they took it upon themselves to give good reviews to game that also spent a lot of money advertising in their mag.  Now, I don’t have proof, but I’m a conspiracy theorist, and it just seemed strange how they tended to give good reviews to games that advertised a lot in their magazine.  But this maybe just me.  I do tend to be a bit paranoid.  Course this was around 7 or 8 years ago when all this occurred to me.  I stopped reading the reviews and only purchased the magazine for previews or other articles, you should also see the centerfold, its a Dream Machine.

So, for years I’ve been getting much of my game reviews online.  Sad to say, one of my more favorite sites was Gamespot.  I did tend to do lots of research, using other sites like Gamespy or Gamerankings, to get an over all feel for a game before I purchased it.  You can only imagine my horror over the whole scandal at Gamespot.  Now, as they will tell you, Jeff Gerstmann’s firing was something that was already in the works. He was being replaced, yadda yadda yadda.  I just say thats one cracker jack team of spin doctors .  I’m not going to rehash all that here, but lets just say, it didn’t come as a surprise, being the sceptic that I am, it was only a matter of time before this kind of “Fit hit the Shan“.  And the whole idea that the advertising arm is different from the reviewing arm and no one is allowed to influence the other is crazy.  There is no way a human can move and work if both arms don’t know what the other is doing.

This brings me around to why I like bloggers so much.  Blogger, especially gamers that blog, are people I feel I can trust when it comes to reviewing a game.  You read their blogs because they write about things that interest you.  If they like a game, most likely if your reading their blog, you’ll like it as well.  I don’t think bloggers are reporters, but I think their opinions about games and the gaming industry help others get the much needed unbiased facts they need to help them make an informed decision about what they want to play next.  Bloggers have not corporate agenda.  They are only out to tell people their thought.  They aren’t getting payola from some gaming company to say nice things about their next release.  They tell it like they see it and they aren’t going to apologize for it. 

So if your looking for your next game to play, I’d say look for bloggers to give you the skinny.   They usually tell it the way they see it and if you view the world in a similar way, I’m sure you’ll get a more honest review of a game.  Course, this will all change when game companies start infiltrating the blogosphere and start forming covert blog sites just to hype their game, but I only say that because I’m paranoid.

~ by oakstout on January 29, 2008.

One Response to “This Blog, 1 out of 5 Stars!”

  1. […] they’re not terribly impressed. Bloggers are better about this than major media (just ask Oakstout), but nobody likes to slam a new game out of the gate– especially if the flaws aren’t […]

Leave a Reply

 
