Pirates work Hard.

I want to say sorry for not posting in a while. I have been out of town for the last two months due to that evil four letter word, WORK.

Since I have been out of town and away from the computer, I have not had much time to play anything. But as luck would have it, two weekends ago, a weekend that I had off for a change and was planning to spend the whole time playing WoW, my internet provider decided to upgrade their equipment. Because of this excellent move on their part, my internet was down all weekend. So, what to do.

I decided to go shopping with my lovely wife. We both agreed to visit the local Best Buy in our journey to spend money. I would have gotten the ORANGE BOX, but with no internet and that game being very dependent on Steam, I decided against it. Instead, I picked up Sid Meier’s Pirates! It happened to be in the bargain bin for $20.00. Now the game was released in 2004 and at the time of its release, it was one of the games on my list to get, but since my hobby is procrastination, I never got around to picking it up.

I have to say that decision was a bad one. This game is pretty awesome and it stands up well to most games even today. Basically, you get to be a pirate, attack ships on the open water, search for treasure on land, and hunt down the other pirates in the game. There are four factions in the game (England, Dutch, French, Spanish), you pick one as you start, but since you’re a pirate, you don’t have to stay loyal to them. Most factions are at war with each other, as you attack more ships of one faction, you gain favor with another and if you get enough you can go dancing with the governor’s daughter at the Ball.

The game if very open ended. You can focus all your effort to be number one on the most feared pirate list, complete treasure hunts, sack villages and cities, or you can spend time searching for your lost family members. The game had me hooked the minute I loaded it up. Its very simple to play and it does run on Vista. (I know this cause I loaded it on a company laptop, but was only able to play it once while out of town.)

Alas, I’m headed out of town again so my next post might be a while, but don’t give up yet lol. I am scheduled for a ton of vacation at the end of November and most of December, so I’ll get some much needed gaming time in.

~ by oakstout on October 26, 2007.

2 Responses to “Pirates work Hard.”

  1. I loved Pirates! I keep meaning to go back and play it, but I just never get around to it. Actually, I think I lost my CD key too… that makes me sad.

  2. Thanks for the recommendation. Mass Effect and Assassin’s Creed have reserved all my free money for a while, but I’ll try to pick up Pirates eventually.

Leave a Reply

 
