Rock Gods!

Ever since I was a kid, I’ve loved playing Air Guitar. I don’t have a lot of coordination, so I never thought I could ever play a REAL guitar, but Air Guitar has always been enough for me. Well, not anymore.

I met up with a former co-worker of mine this past week and he informed me that he had picked up Guitar Heroes 2 for his PlayStation 2. Although he is not an avid gamer, he could not stop telling me how much fun he was having playing this game. When he would go into details like “Star Power” he would become very animated and show me how that trick was preformed by pulling the neck of his Air Guitar back and start strumming.

Now I have not been under a rock, I have heard all about the enthusiasm towards this game and its predecessor, but I have always be afraid that the game might be too much for me to handle. But my friend was really animated and just couldn’t stop talking about this game. For the rest of the day, I just couldn’t stop thinking about it. Would I be able to play this game and be a Rock God? I mean, I can walk and chew gum, which is better coordination than most people I know, but I’m not a person that has ever believed that I could play any kind of Rock instrument beyond Air Guitar. Well, I can say that is no longer the case.
I ventured over to our local Best Buy to see if by chance they had one on display, which they did. With this much of an investment in a game, $80.00 for game and controller, I wanted to make sure that I was able to play a little and that it was enjoyable. It took me a few moments to understand the premise of how it worked, which included one or two low turns on the rock meter, but after a few minutes I was playing “Carry On My Wayward Son”, which isn’t an easy song to do for your first song I must say. But man, my hands ached and my arms were sore from playing the game, but that only made me want it more.

Then the process of getting the wife to let me spend that much money on a crazy game was the next hurdle. Everyone thats married has gone thru this process and sometimes its not very pretty, but this time, she was all for it. She could see how much fun I was having in the store and she knew it wasn’t some fad, that I would actually play a lot. This is why I love this woman, she gets me. lol

Well, long story short, I’m looking over at my plastic Gibson leaning up against my TV Stand. I played that thing for several hours. Its the most fun I have had playing a game on the Playstation 2 in a very very very long time. Course, I’m still on easy and will be there for sometime I am sure. I’ve seen video of people playing on Expert and its just insane. And now that I have the controller, I can pick up the original game and the upcoming Guitar Hero Encore Rock the 80’s which includes the following songs:

 

 

1. Opening Licks

 

  • “Metal Health (Bang Your Head)” – Quiet Riot
  • “We Got the Beat” – The Go-Go’s
  • “I Ran (So Far Away)” – A Flock of Seagulls
  • “Balls to the Wall” – Accept
  • “18 and Life” – Skid Row (encore)
2. Amp Warmers

 

  • “No One Like You” – Scorpions
  • “Shakin'” – Eddie Money
  • “Heat of the Moment” – Asia
  • “Radar Love” – White Lion[18][19]
  • “Because, It’s Midnite” – Limozeen (encore)
3. String Snappers

 

  • “Holy Diver” – Dio
  • “Turning Japanese” – The Vapors
  • “Hold on Loosely” – .38 Special
  • “The Warrior” – Scandal
  • “I Wanna Rock” – Twisted Sister (encore)
4. Return of the Shred

 

  • “What I Like About You” – The Romantics
  • “Synchronicity II” – The Police
  • “Ballroom Blitz” – Krokus[20]
  • “Only a Lad” – Oingo Boingo
  • “Round and Round” – Ratt (encore)
5. Relentless Riffs

 

  • “Nothin’ But a Good Time” – Poison
  • “Lonely is the Night” – Billy Squier
  • “Bathroom Wall” – Faster Pussycat
  • “Los Angeles” – X
  • “Wrathchild” – Iron Maiden (encore)
6. Furious Fretwork

 

      •  

        “Electric Eye” – Judas Priest”Police Truck” – Dead Kennedys”Seventeen” – Winger”Caught in a Mosh” – Anthrax”Play With Me” – Extreme (encore)
      • “Seventeen” – Winger
      • “Caught in a Mosh” – Anthrax
      • “Play With Me” – Extreme (encore)

I’m a child of the 80’s so its something I’m sure I’ll pick up. Well need to get back to the Amps and kick out a few more licks.

~ by oakstout on July 15, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
