Mentoring!

One of the things I have come to enjoy in EQ2 now that I am back is the mentoring system. Now some may say that its another way of saying “Power Leveling”, but it really isn’t.

A good friend of mine that stayed with EQ2 when I jumped ship to play WoW was gracious enough to bring out his level 44 Bezerker on the Oasis server and help me level my 12th lvl Fury. We did some experimenting at first, just to make sure what we could take on. We started off with a couple of gnolls that were green to me. These went really well. I managed to get a couple of quests done and my xp was exceptional. I quickly went from level 12 to 14 in the matter of 1hr of play.

One of the areas in Antonica my friend tends to hang out in is Stormhold. He likes to hang out there, collect “?” to sell on the market. So we decide to press out luck a bit, gather up a few more quests and writs and head that way. Most of the mobs outside are yellow to us, but with some patients and a few heals, we managed to get thru. Now for the most part, up till now them mobs had all been down arrow mobs.

We get into Stormhold and I grab a few quests and we start our slow grind down. In a little over another hour I gain 2 more levels. This is great. we haven’t died, come close to running out of power to heal, but our luck holds pretty good and I managed to get some great xp. So, we try a door off the main hallway. We head in slow and find a mob thats yellow, but has 2 up arrows. My friend says, lets try. Well, to make a long story short, there are some things you shouldn’t do or even try. lol It was a slaughter. But it was nice to know that there are limits to what you can do while mentoring. We pretty much finished the night there with the one death, the next night we were at it again. I finished off an orange quest in Stormhold and finally finishing with my fury at level 18. There were a few more deaths and we tested the limits a few times, but it was lots of fun.

I have to say, my first experience with the mentoring process was awesome. Since my friend had awesome armor and lots of health, it made relearning the art of healing with a druid class a lot easier. Some may say its Power leveling and I can see that to some degree. But the great thing is it lets friends hang out and do stuff together without the restriction of levels. I haven’t had the chance to game with my buddy in over 2 years and the chance to do that for several hours was just plain fun.

~ by oakstout on June 22, 2007.

5 Responses to “Mentoring!”

  1. Oakstout you are SOOOOO right. 2 of my good friends in real life have recently joined the game as a result of my manaiacal passion for all things EQ 🙂

    It is so superb that we can hang out and do stuff together. My girl is a lvl 70 Templar, and my friends have made up a Palladin and a wizard. I have taken them into Blackburrow and Stormhold, out into the wilds of Antonica and the Thundering Steppes. And it really was just good ol’ plain fun.

    There is also a welcome bonus for those who are mentoring too – it gives us a chance to get some very very precious aa xp by colouring up quests we have missed that would otherwise have been grey, or by killing nameds that would have otherwise been grey.

  2. Mentoring needs to be in every game. It also allows me to play alts out the ying yang!

  3. I’m not big on power leveling. In WoW, I’ve helped friends finish quest in low level instances by bringin out my big dog 70 Mage, but they only get xp for finishing the quests. The little xp that you get from grouping is sooo low its not worth discussing.

    The nice thing about mentoring is you get someone thats a little bit beefer to help tackling the tough mobs and you get nice xp. Also, as Kilanna mentioned, you can go back and do AA quests that you may have missed or those that weren’t available when you first leveled up your character.

    Its a good way to keep friends together. The first time I played EQ2, there was no mentoring and after another friend of mine decided to level past me, it was almost inpossible to get together with him. This was one of the reasons, of which there are many that I left EQ2 in the first place. A bunch of my friends who are hardcore wanted to level and I was left behind. Its something that I’m sure has happed to lots of people, especially back in the EQ days.

  4. I love the mentoring system, back in everquest 1 when i a friend started to play the game i would make a new charater and level with them. Which was ok.. but you know i never really keep any of those charaters. With the mentoring system in eq2 i can just use any of my main charaters that i know how to play and help them better than if i was a new charater as well

  5. Yeah i just noticed how fun and great mentoring is recently. Just playing with guildies that wanna come back and get names for AA and at least a little exp.

Leave a Reply

 
