Wonderful Blog-sphere here I come!

– How did you get here?

This is my first Blog, wow am I excited. I’ve been mesmerized by the world of blogging for sometime, spending a lot of time reading different bloggers opinions and then adding my comments to each one that provoked me in some way. This was fun, but then I thought, wouldn’t it be nice to lay out my own ideas and ramblings in my own blog. How hard could it be, just find a site that hosts for free (You are here!) then find some random stuff to write about and post it. That sounded easy enough. It may take me a while to get my thoughts out there in some kind of coherent manner and I make no excuses or promises that my writing will be easy to read or make a whole lot of sense, but thats the beauty of blogging, right? Or at least thats what I am hoping.

– Who are you?

Glad you asked, I’m 40 and live in a nice area of North Carolina. Been married to a wonderful woman for 18 years, I only know this cause we had an anniversary last Sunday, so its easy for me to remember, ask me in a few months and I might not be able to give you that much detail. No children, but a wonderful cat which we have had for many many years. Been working at the same place for 15 yrs. Not that I’m proud of that fact, but I’ve enjoyed it so far and they haven’t gotten tired of me yet, so I’m lucky I guess.

– Ok, but will this be different and how?

What will I be discussing or where am I going with all this? I’m currently playing Everquest 2 and World of Warcraft. I’ve just gotten back into the Eq2 mainly due to boredom in WoW. I’m also playing Command and Conquer 3, Company of Heroes, Dawn of War and a few others. I’ve been fascinated with playing video games since my Dad brought home a Pong console machine back in the 70’s. I wasn’t lucky enough to get an Atari, but I did manage to talk my parents into a Colecovision in the late 70’s. I know I spent tons of time in the arcade at our local mall till I was well into my college years and since I was on the 5year plan, that was a couple of years. I didn’t get my own computer till I was married and then it was a very horrible little machine that barely managed to play Quake. After that, a friend of mine helped me on the road to building my own machines and I’ve been going that route ever since.

That being said, I love being a gamer, which is the reason I’m getting into blogging. I’ve been hanging out at a bunch of different Bloggers sites, mostly MMO players, over the last couple of weeks and wanted to start my own. I listen to lots of different podcasts like SUWT, Virgin Worlds, Eq2daily, The Instance, and World of Warcast. And those just scratch the surface of what I listen too. I wanted to have a place to talk about whats on my mind concerning my favorite subject, gaming. I want to share my passion for what I’m playing and to have discussions with others out there, no matter what their point of view might be. Different? Probably not. But, I hope its informative, entertaining and fun.

More to come!

Oakstout –

~ by oakstout on June 7, 2007.

3 Responses to “Wonderful Blog-sphere here I come!”

  1. Heya Oak nice to see you about. I helped you out on the main EQ2 discussion page a while back and see you post on EQ2 Daily, great looking blog so far. If you want I will add you to my blog’s RSS feed list, http://wifeagro.blogspot.com/ is where mine is, but wanted to get your permission first

  2. Cool! Welcome to the club!

  3. Sounds good Pvthudson. Sorry took so long to respond. I need to find a way to automate the responses so I don’t have to keep check approving them Hopefully, once approved there won’t be trouble seeing the responses.
    I’ve added you to my Bloggers list and you can add me as well. I’ll take all the help I can. Very new to this Bloggin thing. lol

    And thanks Wil. I really enjoy reading your blog and checking out your responses to others. A good debate is always fun to watch.

Leave a Reply

 
